Personal Commendations

Personal Commendations

Commendations I have kindly received from professionals I have had the pleasure of working with.

‘Having worked with Richard on a number of projects now, including one grueling, multi-location, feature shoot, I am still surprised at the levels of energy and enthusiasm he brings to the table. Endlessly positive, and unfailingly reliable, competent, and friendly, he’s a dream to work with. It’s also been a pleasure to watch him develop a broad range of technical skills (he can do virtually every rear of camera job) and a fine artistic eye as a DOP in his own right. The boy’ll go far.’

– Benjamin Read, Producer.

‘Have had the pleasure of working with Richard Davis on several projects much notable on our second feature film 500 Miles North. Richard is someone who is not just reliable but extremely talented who is always available to help and inspire others around him. I look forward to working with Richard again in the future.’

– Luke Massey, Director

‘I had the pleasure of working with Richard on ‘Genesis’. Having being shown the treatment, I was instantly excited about working on a piece with such a strong creative vision. Subsequently, the shoot itself was a joy to be a part of- with smooth running, well organised schedules, a great team, and clear, enthusiastic direction throughout. The props and costumes were expertly sourced and the actors were provided for and treated with the utmost respect throughout. I look forward to hopefully being involved in future creative ventures!’

– Joanne Billingham, Actress.

‘It was a great experience to shoot this film. The ideas and workings behind it have been really impressive and it’s hopefully going to reflect in the final project.’

-Sam South, Actor.

‘SUCH a pleasure working with Richard; always devising always deconstructing in a scene, perpetually working to realize a story fragment to its fullest, most innovative potential. Inspiring and gutsy DOP!’

– Peter Brooke, Actor.

We’ve worked with Richard Davis on a number of projects and his work ethic and attention to detail have been second to none. He brings an infectious creative energy to the projects he’s worked on.

– Greg McLeod, Director

‘From day one I knew I couldn’t handle everything. I knew I needed someone I could trust to fulfill the vision whilst I dealt with performances. Rich was there every minute I was there, nobody lived this film as much as us two. While everyone else was enjoying their evenings, me and Rich were going through the rushes and thinking about the next day until we went to sleep. He put up with my food, sleeping on my couch for two days and basically threw himself in head first with this film. In the short time I’ve known Rich he’s shown himself to not only be extremely talented, but also a fantastic person.’

– Dale Driver, Director.

“Richard Davis, great bloke, I only paid him in sandwiches”

Only joking

“Working with Richard was a professional and enjoyable experience”.

-Nic Cooley, Director

‘Richard has a spiritually deep and clear perception for film making. He is so easy to work with and is fully focused and comfortable in the art of film making.’

– Marcus McMathghamna, Actor.

‘Thanks again for all your hard work on our project- the film was amazing and we’ve just got some really good marks back and we’re so happy! We’re actually working on a new project, and would love to work with you again if you’re up for it?’

– Cassie Criddell, Director.

‘Three students; Emma Coombs, Ryan Crowley & Will Ganner worked with Richard Davis on Shark In A Suit, a visually engaging short film which captured the students’ imaginations and resulted in a fantastic sound track, bringing a perfect mix of audio sampling and synthesis. The students were pleased to meet Richard after the performance, Emma going on to work with Rich on further projects. What a guy! He’s the shit.’

-Tom Angell, Sound Designer and Lecturer at S-u-A College.

 “Hello Richard, its Chu. I got that job, and the casting director said that it was a ‘master class’ of how to do a self tape..a ‘master class’. Id like to take all the credit for that, but I fear that you are responsible for most of that. So thank you very much. I own you, thank you mate.” 
– Chu Omambala (RSC 2015)

Leave a comment